The Ultimate Section 508 Refresh Checklist

December 21, 2017 BY SOFIA ENAMORADO
Updated: January 8, 2018

On January 18, 2017, the U.S. Access Board released a comprehensive update to Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act to address the ever-changing and universal nature of modern technology.

The Section 508 refresh was a monumental step towards greater accessibility in the United States.

The revised Section 508 now legally requires compliance with WCAG 2.0 standards as applied to the function of the technology rather than product types, such as computer, mobile, or tablet.

There are four key changes to the new Section 508:

  • Broad application of WCAG 2.0
  • New “Safe Harbor” provision for legacy ICT
  • Functional Performance Criteria (FPC)
  • ICT with closed functionality

To whom does Section 508 apply?

As a federal anti-discrimination act, Section 508 applies to federal agencies and departments.

While Section 508 technically applies only to federal organizations, it is extended to other types of organizations through state laws, institutional laws, and grant requirements

For example, many states have enacted their own “mini 508” laws that apply the following requirements. In addition, universities (including private universities) that receive funding through grants may be required to comply with Section 508, as well.

Section 508 applies to the Federal departments and federal agencies, State governments through little 508s, Public websites, Organizations with institutional 508 requirements or grants that require compliance with Section 508

The Checklist

The overarching goal of the refresh is to harmonize standards across different industries and governments in the United States while affirming global accessibility standards.

The deadline to meet the new Section 508 requirements is January 18, 2018.

With the deadline quickly approaching, it’s important that your organization is on top of the requirements.

Depending on the component of the ICT, certain requirements must be met to ensure they comply with the law.

The following downloadable checklist includes:

  • What is ICT?
  • An exceptions checklist
  • A comprehensive checklist on all requirements that must be met for each ICT category

Don’t wait until the last minute to get your ICT updated to the new standards! Click the link below to get started with your Section 508 checklist.

download the checklist

Read the free report: 2017 State of Captioning.

The closed caption CC icon shown in the middle of a TV.