Introducing the Expiring Editing Link!

February 9, 2018 BY SOFIA ENAMORADO
Updated: January 24, 2019

We are so excited to announce the Expiring Editing Link!

Now you can give non-3Play users access to specific files, without having to give them your 3Play username and password.

What is the Expiring Editing Link?

The Expiring Editing Link (EEL) is a link that allows non-3Play users to edit and review a specific transcript or translation for a defined period of time.

Name card, name not eligible.

Users are given access to an editing interface displaying the chosen file, and nothing else.

The Expiring Editing Link works for all your caption, transcription, and translation files.

Why use it?

The Expiring Editing Link is used when a 3Play user needs a non-3Play user to edit a specific completed file.

If you are a school, for example, you may want students on work-study to review your transcripts before publishing.

Bird holding a feather pen

Instead of giving these students access to your 3Play account, you can now send them the Expiring Editing Link. Students will only have access to that file.

Similarly, if you are a media company and you want interns to review a transcript before publishing, all you have to do is send them the Expiring Editing Link.
 
 
All your other projects and confidential information will remain hidden from the non-3Play user.

So, do users have access to this link indefinitely?

Nope!

All links come with an expiration time that you can define when you first create the link.

Once the link has expired, users will no longer be able to access the link. If the non-3Play user attempts to finalize an edit after the expiration time, an error message will appear and the changes will not take effect.

Users can see when the link will expire at the top right corner of the landing page.
 

Gif zooming into the top right corner of the editing interface where the expiration is. This document expires February 7, 2018 at 4 PM

 

3Play users can select an expiration time of 4 hours, 12 hours, 1 day, 3 days, or 1 week. If the non-3play user ends up needing more time, you will need to generate a new link.

Can multiple people access the link?

Girl with thumbs up

Anyone with the link can access the editing interface. Note: each user must finalize their edits in order to save the changes.

Only the most recent changes will take effect.

It’s best to only have one person editing the transcript at a time so that no changes are duplicated or overwritten.

How can I generate an Expiring Editing Link?

First, ensure you have the Expiring Editing Link module activated.

Under settings in your 3play account, find the expiring editing link module. click activate module

 

Now, to generate an Expiring Editing Link, a 3Play user must first select the file they wish to have edited/reviewed.

Next, click the Edit Transcript icon.
 

the edit transcript icon looks like a pencil

 

Once in the editing interface, scroll down to find a blue Expiring Editing Link button at the bottom.
 

Gif of user scrolling within the 3Play users editing interface. at the bottom is the Create Expiring Editing Link button. When selected a menu appears titled Generate Expiring Editing Link

 

When you click it, a popup menu will appear titled, “Generate Expiring Editing Link.” You’ll see a drop-down menu with the expiration times.
 

Generate expiring editing link drop down menu of times. you can select 4 hours, 12 hours, 1 day, 3 days or 1 week

 

Once you have selected a time frame, click Create Expiring Editing Link, then copy the link.

Now you are ready to send your link out to a non-3Play user!

Note: you will not be able to re-generate the same link once you exit your 3Play account.

How does a non-3Play user edit the transcript?

With the EEL, users are given access to an editing interface with the chosen file and nothing else.

pencil

The editing interface allows the user to edit specific words, delete words, add flags, search the transcript, and preview the final results.

Refer to this support document on the editing interface for further help.

Essentially, this is the same interface 3Play users can access when they select the Edit Transcript icon.

Note: all changes must be finalized. Selecting Save Changes will not propagate your changes to the final transcript.
 
 
 



Get started with captioning today!

3play media logo in blue

Subscribe to the Blog Digest

Sign up to receive our blog digest and other information on this topic. You can unsubscribe anytime.



By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.